• Home
  • Forms
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Skip To Main Content
  • A+ A A-
  • A A

Departmental Profile

The Department of Manipuri established in July 1997, offers M.A. , M.Phil. and Ph.D. programmes of study. The major focus of the teaching and research endeavorsin the department is on areas like language, culture, Manipur’s folklore, Manipuri literature and translation theories. Apart from teaching and research the department has also been organizing national level seminars and UGC sponsored refresher courses. Study tours to centers of folklore and Manipuri culture are also occasionally arranged.

Courses Offered

Courses Offered Duration Number of Seats Program Course Structure Timetable Year
M.Sc(by course work) Four Semesters 31 M.A(Syllabus) 2013-2014 batch
M.Phil (by course work and dissertation)
Ph.D. (by course work and research work) IPP Coursework(Syllabus)
D.Litt (by research work)


Name Designation Contact Area of Specialization
N. Sarat Chandra Singh, M.Phil. , Ph.D. Professor 09954458473 n.saratchandra.singh@aus.ac.in Principles and parameters theory(PPT) and the minimalist programme of transformational generative(TG) grammar, Comparative Literature, Stylistics and Translation.
W. Raghumani Singh, Ph.D. Professor 09435231627 w.raghumani.singh@aus.ac.in Comparative Linguistics, Dialectology, Historical Linguistics, Manipuri Novel and Short Story
H. Nani Kumar Singha, Ph.D. ?Professor 09435600946 h.nani.kumar.singha@aus.ac.in Manipuri Folklore, Manipuri Culture, Eastern Criticism, Modern Manipuri Poetry.
M. Rajendra Singh, Ph.D. Professor 09854619342 moirangthemrajendra.singh@aus. Modern Manipuri prose and drama, Old Manipuri literature and culture.
H. Rajmani Singha, Ph.D. Astt. Professor 09435374181 h.rajmani.singha@aus.ac.in Indian Literary Criticism, Old Manipuri literature and culture.
R.K. Nirmola Sana, Ph.D. Astt. Professor 09435201614 Tibeto-Burman Linguistics, Modern Manipuri Literature

Head of Department

Prof.?Rajendra Singh
(03842) 270840 (O)


Many of the students passed out from the department of Manipuri are now serving as faculty members, researchers in various educational institutions both within and outside north-east India.

七星乐彩票 裕民县| 新干县| 汉阴县| 射洪县| 镇平县| 溧水县| 肃宁县| 泾阳县| 望城县| 彭泽县| 盘山县| 大邑县| 平陆县| 墨玉县| 阳城县| 定兴县| 水富县| 高雄县| 西华县| 芒康县| 博白县| 台南市| 德庆县| 青神县| 涪陵区| 河源市| 鹰潭市| 定边县| 忻州市| 武隆县| 德江县| 公安县| 海晏县| 晋州市| 璧山县| 张家川| 襄垣县| 海盐县| 榕江县| 晋城| 嘉定区|